Iphone 4s in europe- january through may
karabear

i want to take my iphone 4s to spain while i am studying abroad this semester.  i plan on getting another phone for local calls but still want to have the iphone to be able to connect to wifi.  Can someone help me if this is possible?  How do i make sure i dont get data roaming bills?  are there free video chatting apps?  can i still connect to facetime without getting charged for a phonecall if i am connected on wifi?  does anyone have any recommendations?

thank you!!!!!!

Labels (2)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Iphone 4s in europe- january through may
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader

You would incur roaming charges if you get phone calls and text messages in Europe if you don't add an international plan to your service on Verizon Wireless. I am not familiar with the specifics of the international plans offered by Verizon Wireless.

To prevent that you should put the phone on airplane mode and then turn on the wifi connection when needed.

There are two kinds of suspensions. Suspension with payment will not extend your two year contract with Verizon Wireless.

Suspension without payment WILL extend your contract based on the length of time you suspend the service. If your original contract expires in November 2012 and you suspend the line without payment for three months, your contract end date will be extended to February 2013.

I'm most definitely NOT a VZW employee. If a post answered your question, please mark it as the answer.

View solution in original post

Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader

The iPhone 4S is global ready. You can get the phone SIM unlocked before you leave for the trip. Then you can get a local SIM card over there.

I don't know all details so hopefully someone else chimes in with more details.

I'm most definitely NOT a VZW employee. If a post answered your question, please mark it as the answer.

0 Likes
AntonioC_VZW
Verizon Employee

Hi karabear,