"Variable Service " = No Service
adamsusa
Enthusiast - Level 1

Verizon,

I recently began experiencing terrible Verizon service in my home neighborhood.  This started in early October 2019, during which I was not able to make or receive phone calls.  During subsequent weeks I observed the usual excellent service away from my neighborhood, the same service I had been receiving in my neighborhood for the last 20 years with Verizon.  After multiple chats and phone calls with Tier 1 and Tier 2 support, performing numerous reboots and resets, and even responding via text messages with field service reps involved with site survey, I still have the terrible service within my home neighborhood.

The very pleasant and very helpful Tier 2 support rep offered an explanation stating my iPhone 5S uses 3G voice services and Verizon is moving forward to decommission that service.  She elaborated that Verizon previously planned to stop 3G service by end of 2019, but recently extended this to 2020.  Never hearing of this before, I googled this and found industry articles referencing this and the dates.  But the articles also said until this, 3G services will remain in place until end of 2020 and has stopped activating new 3G phones immediately.

The Tier 2 rep also stated my home is in a “variable service” area, explaining this means Verizon knows it’s a disadvantaged service area but has no immediate plans to resolve this.  She arranged to have field inspection performed, and after multiple texts with that team, I received a generic message stating the all was “normal”.  Since then, I’ve watched more closing my 4G/LTE (no 3G) service bounce all over from no service to few bars to perfect, all around my neighbor while on the move, but also while sitting in the same place. Understand while in my home, I normally use Wi-Fi for data services, thus wouldn’t normally notice changes in the 4G/LTE service.