Verizon lied about my data usage to get me to buy more data
SarahBJawa
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hello,

I am new to this Verizon community, and only registered so I could see if a) anyone else was having these shady, dishonest issues with their data plans or if b) Verizon was willing to do anything about it other than lie some more.

I have been a loyal Verizon client since 2011, and have always spoken quite highly of them in the face of haters. But that all changes now. 

On February 8th, I received emails and text messages saying I was out of data. I had always been fine with data, even using way under until recenly changing office locations where the Wi-Fi is super spotty. No worries, I thought. I'll just up my data plan.

Three days later on February 11th, I received more messages that I was out of data AGAIN. I had (supposedly) used up three gigs of data in three days. This was nuts. What was I doing differently? Was I listening to too much music? Should I listen to it in offline mode? 

Today, when I went into look and see my actual account, there it was on the homepage of My Verizon, "you have 0 gigs left of data--you will go into safety mode soon." Soon?? If I'm already out of data, I should already be in safety mode.

I then discovered that you can actually see your data usage down to the minute. When I went into that part of My Verizon, I was given a different story, which was, I wasn't out of data at all, and actually had 1.6Gs left in my billing cycle, which ends in three days. What the??

I just bought a new phone in November which I need to pay off, but I will do this ASAP, so I can switch to a differentr service provider. There is no excuse for lying to your customers. I find this so completely repulsive, dishonest, and deceitful--all to get people to up their data plans.