How do I set a sound file as a ringtone?
Bethl52

Okay. I am not THAT old - lol 52. But I am brand new to smart/android anything. Phones, tablets, etc.

I just bought a ringtone from verizon and it was texted to my Galaxy S III. It has a lock on it (pic looks like a padlock). I was able to play the tone from the text message. But I am clueless how to unlock it and/or make it my ring to me for all incoming calls.

Also, while I am asking questions, I have 3 more please. When I swipe my finger to "open" my phone the weather page ALWAYS opens. I have tried shorter swipes, nope, it still opens. I want to keep it on my "desktop" but don't like it opened on every swipe. By the time I get it closed I am using up unwanted data, many times a day.

Is there any way to tell how low my battery is? Right now I just guess by the bars. I have tried swipping it, but that didn't work

Last question - I was told by Verizon store people that I should not charge it until it is at 20% or less left. But if I wait till then to charge I end up with a dead phone before I can get back home 4 or 5 hours later. Can I charge it safely before that low?

Thanks, Beth Smiley Happy

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Learning - Help teach a old dog new tricks please :) A few basic questions ...
Not applicable

As far as the ringtone. I believe if you press on hold the ringtone a pop-up should appear to ask what you want to do with it.

For the battery go to settings then press BATTERY there should be a box to check where it says "Display battery percentage on indicator" or something like that.

You can charge your phone whenever you want. But batteries only have so many charge cycles. Should be at least 500 before they stop charging as much as they should so you don't necessarily want to keep charging it all the time when it's not necessary, but if you charge it at 25% or 30% or whatever every now and then there shouldn't be an issue.

View solution in original post

0 Likes