MHS800L has bugs in its firmware
CodeCamel
Enthusiast - Level 2

Be warned. I have had nothing but issues with this hotspot: it reboots on its own randomly, and fails to broadcast at times.

Here is something I found when enabling logs:

This is the settings page, note that there is:

• Automatic Shutdown
  • Turn Off Display
  • LED On/Off
  • Blink Delay

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 2.13.50 AM.png

Now let's change the Blink Delay from 3s to 5s. Here is the log

[2015/10/09 02:04:28] Request [Clear Log]: Succeed.

[2015/10/09 02:04:41] Prefence Change:

[2015/10/09 02:04:41] Turn off display: After 30 seconds

[2015/10/09 02:04:41] Auto Shutdown : After 10 minutes

[2015/10/09 02:04:41] Power Indicator : ON

[2015/10/09 02:04:41] Auto Shutdown : 5 Sec

Note the last line.

I'm a software developer, and know it's quite possible that a string literal that is shared w/ the Auto Shutdown was used for the Blink Delay, but this leads me to really worry about core functionality of this hotspot.

Firmware version: 3.3.3.0-17585

Re: MHS800L has bugs in its firmware
CodeCamel
Enthusiast - Level 2

I am a traveling professional that relies on technology. My phone is AT&T and I have had 0 total issues with their service. I decided to go with Verizon two months ago for extending my service reach with their hotspot (that was raved as being the 'best' by their wireless store), and possibly migrate to them due to their 'coverage map'. That's not going to happen.

Anecdotal, but probably the first hint that this service was going to be a nightmare: the next day after getting my hotspot, I get a text message (to my hotspot) to rate my shopping experience. How funny, I get charged $0.20 for that message...but it's a Verizon message. What company charges you to communicate with them? Verizon!