Maxx 2 won't charge while powered on and only charges to 80%
RL67037
Enthusiast - Level 3

Hello,

I have a Droid Maxx 2 that I have been using without any problems for about 2 years. On 2/15/2018 I received a notice that a software update was available, so I installed it. It was the OTA push for Nougat 7.1.1, 26.26.14.lux_verizon.verizon.en.US. The installation happened with no problems and the phone workesd fine for a few of days. On about the 3rd or 4th day, I plugged my phone in at night, powered on (like I have done for 2 years) and when I woke up the battery was at 51% - it didn't charge over night like usual. Thinking that I didn't seat the USB port properly, I took the charger and cable (the same items I have been using for 2 years) to work to charge my phone. After a couple of hours of charging, my battery had lost about 5% of it's charge. That's when I discovered that my phone would no longer charge while powered on. I turned my phone off and plugged it in (using the charger and cord from before) and after a couple of hours I checked it and the battery percentage was increasing, so now I knew that I could still charge my phone but it would have to be powered off. That night, I turned my phone off and plugged it in. The next morning, instead of being 100% charged, it was only 81% charged. Over the next few days, I have done the following to correct the problem:

Tried several different chargers and USB cables - no change

Cleaned charging port on phone - no change

Tried charging in Safe Mode - no change

Tried clearing the cache - no change

Tried charging for 24 hours - no change

Tried a full factory reset (2/25/2018) - no change