MIFI451 data usage
norell9694

Just bought this device last Sunday and Verizon says I have used over 3G's of my 5g allowance.  Anyone else have this problem?  I have not streamed any video or radio.  I have left device on but was told by Verizon to shut it off when not in use and it is using data when I am not on computer.  No DSL is available in my area and I have an autistic son who uses the computer after school and on weekends.  I have been on the computer for most of the day.  I don't understand how I could have used 3.142G in 5 days.  HELP!!!  At this rate my internet bill will be out of this world.

0 Likes
Re: MIFI451 data usage
norell9694

I should have put MIFI4510L in the SUBJECT of this.  I am new to this paying for data vs. DSL/cable connection.

0 Likes
John_Getzke
Champion - Level 1

Hello,

You can request a Data Usage report from Verizon to help you isolate when the problem is happening.  Verizon should be able to tell you the time of day and the ammount of data consumed at each interval.  There may be a way to look it up through your My Verizon Account if you set it up, but I dont have the steps for that process.  Once you know when your data is being consumed you can start to isolate down the running applications which were running at that time and shut them down.

You mentioned that your son also used the computer after school and on the weekends.  I hate to point out the obvious but are you sure you know how he is consuming your data plan while you are not watching him?  He might be streaming a radio station or watching videos on youtube with out you knowing about it. 

Verizon also has an 1-800 number which you can use to check your data plan on the fly.  It is fully automated and updated about every 10-20 minutes.