Verizon is charging my account for a service that was not provided.
szilasi
Enthusiast - Level 2

Verizon is charging my account for a service that was not provided.

I am a LONG term Verizon customer and no one is helping.....

I work in IT, with the Network and Mobility groups, so I know what I am talking about, network access, O/S, bandwidth, etc….

I changed to a droid Bionic, from my LG (broken).   I started experiencing issues with inability to connect to a solid 4G network. The phone was not updated to Ice Cream Sandwich O/S and tried repeatedly to get update, but no go. Verizon did swap out with another bionic, but still experienced issues with inability to consistently get network access.  I work in a big city, no one else was having issues at my work.

Husband left for Europe due to a family emergency mid Sept.   FIL was in hospital.  I work and there is a 7 hour time difference.   We both had SKYPE on our phones.  At work, I tried to contact him, using SKYPE.   SKYPE would not connect, due to the phone issue connecting to the network.   I had to call husband directly (international calls) to get updates on the condition of my ill, 96 yo FIL.  

1.   This was not an issue of an app that did not function and that Verizon does not support.   I did not have access to the network, thus could not use SKYPE to make calls.  This was not a choice to call international.  

1. Verizon admitted that it was a phone issue.  Since I am a long term Verizon customer and have insurance on the phone, they tried to give me yet another Bionic 9that would not work).  After much discussion, they sent me a RAZR that was on the updated O/S.
  2. Up to the 29th of Sept, I was on the Bionic and could not access SKYPE.  Once I transferred over, I could use SKYPE and was not forced by Verizon to make international calls due the lack of network service that I pay for EACH MONTH.

When I received my bill for Sept, there were hundreds of dollars of additional charges.