Skype For Verizon App - Android.
Expat

Hi There,

I have been searching for this answer from the net to no avail including searching here and skypes forums.

Can anyone tell me now that skype for Verizon has been discontinued on the 24th April is everyone now unable to sign in to this app?

I have tried and continue to get the error message 'Couldn't connect to Skype' 

Will be a shame if this is the case as the normal skype app for android is nigh on impossible to make a call on.

Thanks in advance.

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: Skype For Verizon App - Android.
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader

Have you tried to download the regular Skype app?

I'm most definitely NOT a VZW employee. If a post answered your question, please mark it as the answer.

Expat
Hi Ann,

I do have the regular skype installed on my cell but the app itself is nigh on useless for making calls to landlines overseas (I have a skype subscription), this with both a full wi-fi connection and strong 3g

The Verizon skype was very good in this instance and I hardly had any issues with connections so it would be a pain if we were no longer able to login to the verizon version.

I know the verizon skype app was discontinued on 24th April but was wondering if this also meant you would not be able to login anymore in addition.

Thanks

0 Likes
I_dRatherSpeakWithAHu
Enthusiast - Level 3

Using my Galaxy S3, I continue to trade Skype messages and have conducted one video conference, I believe on April 24. Perhaps I should try again.

0 Likes
I_dRatherSpeakWithAHu
Enthusiast - Level 3

I don't understand the loss, if there was one.  There is a full page of Skype for Android applications here,

skype for android - Android Apps on Google Play

and another here,

Download Skype for Mobile - Windows Phone, Android, iPhone & Blackberry

What's the commotion about?

0 Likes
I_dRatherSpeakWithAHu
Enthusiast - Level 3